Training Day

Training Day

Wes and I often text each other during the day and sometimes we’ll send a picture to each other. (After 17 years together and 14 years of marriage, we are still in the honeymoon stage.) xox 😉 He had a training day yesterday and he sent this picture to me with a funny little message that said, “This is why I’m hot!” – of course I laughed, but one of my first thoughts was, I sure wish there was no war. I wonder if we will ever be at peace? As one thought lead to another, one of my favorite quotes came to mind that is so true, especially with him leaving for deployment and our up coming separation.

peace.

it does not mean to be in a place 

where there is no war, noise, trouble,

or hard work, it means to be in

the midst of those things and still

be calm in your heart. 

(unknown) 

2 thoughts on “Training Day

  1. In 1968 I was in a group of students standing in a crater that was some 60 feet deep, about 23 years after WWII, it had been made by an artillery shell blast. We were in Verdun, France, my history teacher spoke the following as we looked out over the battle field known as the Maginot Line, where the French and the Germans had formed up to wage war.

    For peace is not mere absence of war, but is a virtue that springs from, a state of mind, a disposition for benevolence, confidence, justice. – Baruch Spinoza

    It means much more to me today than it did in 1968, it seems that most of my life we have been at war some place, from Vietnam to Afghanistan. We have not really had any peace for a long time, except for that we hold in our hearts.

    I will keep both you and Wes in my prayers, for it truly will be a trial to keep your heart calm, till he comes home.

    PS: He does look pretty hot 😉

    PPS: I think I see sweat on his face

    • Dan, thanks so much for your prayers. We appreciate them more than you know. You teacher’s words were so very true both then and now. It will be hard while he is away for us both but I know God has a plan. Thanks for always sharing your kind words and thoughts on the blog. P.S. I think I see some sweat too. 😉 😉

Leave a Reply

